CGDevTools Forum

Welcome to the Official CGDevTools Support Community Forums.

Increase limit of entries in pulldown list

by jorgo » 10 Aug 2017 10:31

Hi,

TIWCGJQAutoComplete is a good component, but I have a little problem.

900 entries are shown correct in the pulldown list. (e.g. search result for "_")
But if I have 1000 entries, the pulldown list flickers for a moment and then disappears.

Is there a possibility to have up to 5000 entries in the pulldown list.

Kind regards
jorgo
 
Posts: 108
Joined: 13 Jul 2016 15:57

by Alexander Bulei » 11 Aug 2017 09:36

Hi jorgo,

I don't see any issues with component...
Please check the attached video..

Best Regards.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Group: Developers | Support Team

  • info [at] cgdevtools.com - General information
  • sales [at] cgdevtools.com - Sales department
  • support [at] cgdevtools.com - Product and Technical Support
User avatar
Alexander Bulei
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3635
Joined: 15 May 2012 08:52
Location: Mealhada, Portugal

by jorgo » 11 Aug 2017 11:01

Thx Alexander,

in this video I see 2000 entries in AutoComplete pulldown list.

My computer is slow and database connection is slow too.
I see that the list is filled.
After parts of a second the pulldown list disappears.

It's clear that it is nonsense to fill it with millions of entries.

My solution is to increase JQAutoCompleteOptions.MinLength to 2.
The disadvantage is that I can no longer use the joker "_" to show all possible entries.

Kind regards
jorgo
 
Posts: 108
Joined: 13 Jul 2016 15:57

by Alexander Bulei » 11 Aug 2017 11:26

Hi jorgo,

It's clear that it is nonsense to fill it with millions of entries.


Agree :)

My solution is to increase JQAutoCompleteOptions.MinLength to 2.

The disadvantage is that I can no longer use the joker "_" to show all possible entries.


Here you have my suggestion of workarround:

Set the MinLength to default value (1).

Put in OnSearch.Script property, this script:

Code: Select all
function (event, ui){
  var $input = $(event.target), len = $input.val().length;
  if ((len == 1) && (event.key == '_')){
    return true;
  } else {
    return len > 1;
  }
}


This code will have same behavior as MinLength = 2, except one thing, will allow to search/call with single '_' char...

Best Regards.
Group: Developers | Support Team

  • info [at] cgdevtools.com - General information
  • sales [at] cgdevtools.com - Sales department
  • support [at] cgdevtools.com - Product and Technical Support
User avatar
Alexander Bulei
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3635
Joined: 15 May 2012 08:52
Location: Mealhada, Portugal


Return to JQAutoComplete

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Contact Us.